A Little About Me

January 26, 2007

Yours Truly. So, I wanted to share a little about myself and the other co-pastor/cantor, Dan Adolphson.

Let’s see: I grew up in Flint, Michigan (remember “Roger and Me?) the only child of two autoworkers. I went to Michigan State University (Go, Spartans!) and graduated with a degree in journalism. I spent a few years in Washington DC working at various non-profits.

In 1996, I moved to Minnesota. Why Minnesota? Well, it was not too far from Michigan and my uncle Felipe lived here. In 1997, I finally listened to God’s calling and entered seminary.

I graduated in 2001 and became an ordained minister in the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in 2002.

Itching to do ministry and feeling the call to help plant a church, I took part in starting Community of Grace Christian Church in 2004.

In 2005, I met a guy who has literally brought music to my life. My partner’s name is Daniel and he’s the music director of a local church in the Twin Cities.

The new church has had it’s ups and downs. On the up side, we helped bring someone back to church who hadn’t felt a part of church in a long time because of his being gay. More on that in a separate post.

Right now, we are on a downside. Several people who started with us have moved on and the remaining few wonder what’s next. We wonder if we want to continue. My own feelings are torn between staying and spreading the good news, or just folding up and moving on.

There’s a lot more to share, but that will be in another post. Take care!

Leave a Reply

